Sergey Shishkin

on agile software development

DotNet Cologne 2010: WCF4 Live Coding with GitHub

Another great .NET community event has taken place on last Friday – DotNet Cologne 2010. Big thanks to all the attendees, speakers, sponsors and organizers for making it happen. The event was a huge success. And I even got a chance to speak there about improvements and novelties of Windows Communication Foundation 4.0.

To make it more fun and educating at the same time I decided to do an experiment: use Git–a distributed version control system–in combination with live coding. I took quite a fast coding pace aimed for experienced WCF developers, showing them what’s really new about WCF4. But to make the code samples more accessible for the beginners and to make my coding “traceable” I committed each exercise to a local Git repository right during my presentation and pushed them all in the cloud to GitHub.

A local Git repository makes it really easy to save your coding progress, while code hosting platform in the cloud like GitHub allows you to share and collaborate on your code with others. So now anybody can review the commits history of my live WCF4 demo and easily grasp for example what it takes to call a dynamically discovered service via a generic channel factory.

I liked the experiment myself and also got some positive feedback from the audience regarding the usage of Git. On the downside I ran out of time and had to leave a couple of interesting demos aside, though not because of Git but poor time planning. Lessons learned, promise to improve next time 😉 Join me on GitHub. Your feedback is always welcome!

Written by Sergey Shishkin

01.06.2010 at 22:25

Posted in Uncategorized

